Life Lessons From a Mexican High School Teacher

My dream wasn’t to enter the wolf’s mouth

Gladys Carmina
6 min readMar 23, 2021
Photo by Sincerely Media on Unsplash

Being a teacher is something I wished and now that I have accomplished it, I don’t think I will come back, at least not within the conditions mention here.

I was writing how I discovered I wanted to be a writer and I included a part of my journey as a highs school teacher. Then I decided to write a separate article regarding this specific topic which became the sum of life lessons from being a teacher in Mexico. Yes, I am Mexican.

HOW I BECAME A HIGH SCHOOL TEACHER?

A lot of people dream about being a teacher. It wasn’t my case but I ended up in the front line. Every time someone asked me about my dreamed job, I didn’t have an answer in mind.

One day I was fooling with my boyfriend and I told him:

You know what, someday I would like to be a high school teacher.

A few months later I was there, entering the classroom in the spotlight and 50 eyes staring at me. And a few days later I was told I would be the tutor of a group of 20 kids. This was more than a responsibility I expected at my 24 years old. I never thought that this job experience as a teacher could give me a ton of life…

--

--